Nutty Quinoa Breakfast Bake

One look at this breakfast bake makes my mouth water, and the smell is even more heavenly!

Last summer I harvested an overabundance of butternut squash.  What to do, what to do…

I ended up baking, scooping out, and freezing a bunch of it, and I have had so much fun using it since that time.  I will replant this year for sure!  I have used it in all my favorite pumpkin recipes (shh! don’t tell the relatives), and I have incorporated it into some new recipes as well.

Here is how I made a delicious nutty quinoa breakfast bake:

1 c. quinoa, boiled in 2 1/2 c water until absorbed

1 1/2 c butternut squash puree

1/2 c coconut milk

1 c chopped pecans, and 2 dozen pecan halves

1 t cinnamon

dash of salt

1 t nutmeg

1/2 t ground cloves

1/2 t ginger

2 t vanilla–a patient brought me a bottle of the “real thing” from Mexico, and it is Wow!

1/4 c. brown sugar

2 T flax-seed meal

Layer 1/3 of the quinoa in the bottom of a greased bread pan.  Follow with 1/3 of the butternut squash, and 1/3 of the chopped pecans.  Mix the rest of the ingredients (saving the pecan halves for topping) in a small saucepan and mix while heating through.  Layer this over the pecan layer, and then arrange pecan halves on top to decorate.  Heat through.  I used 350 degrees 20 minutes.  Enjoy!!  This is a sweet treat, but full of protein, omega 3s, beta carotene, and other nutrients!

One thought on “Nutty Quinoa Breakfast Bake

Leave a Reply

